Our institute currently consists of 13 departments, 9 Emeritus groups and 26 research groups with their own research focus. These are supported through central scientific and general service facilities. With more than 1000 people – among half of them scientists – our institute is the largest in the Max Planck Society and unique in its multidisciplinary approach.

To maintain a high scientific standard, an advisory board of international scientists regularly assesses the research undertaken here. A board of trustees, composed of scientists as well as representatives from industry and politics, supports the integration of the institute's work into the wider social context.


Managing Director: Patrick Cramer

Deputy Managing Directors: Nils Brose, Marina Rodnina

Head of Administration: Detlef Steinmann

Research Coordinator: Ursula Fünfschilling

Employee Representatives

Ombudsperson of the Institute: Wolfgang Wintermeyer

Section Member of Scientific Staff: Steffen J. Sahl

Equal Opportunity Representative: Ulrike Gerischer

Go to Editor View