Board of Trustees

The common Board of Trustees of our institute and the Max Planck Institute for Dynamics and Selforganization supports the exchange between both institutions and the public and provides advise on social and scientific policy. Members are elected to the board for a six-year term and represent important areas of politics, economics, science, and the media:

The Board of Trustees convenes once per year. It is currently composed of the following members:


  • Dr. Alison Abbott, Writer and Consultant, Nature
  • Dr. Gabriela Andretta, former President of the State Parliament of Lower Saxony
  • Petra Broistedt, Mayor of the City of Göttingen
  • Fritz Güntzler, Member of the German Bundestag
  • Rainer Hald, former Managing Director of Sparkasse Göttingen
  • Ursula Haufe, former Managing Director of Gesellschaft für Wirtschaftsförderung und Stadtentwicklung (GWG)
  • Prof. Dr. Klaus-Peter Koller, formerly Sanofi-Aventis Deutschland GmbH − preclinical pharma R&D
  • Thomas Kopietz, Head of the editorial office Göttingen, Hessisch-Niedersächsische Allgemeine
  • Dr. Wilhelm Krull (Chair person of the Board of Trustees), former Secretary General of the VolkswagenStiftung, Founding Director of The New Institute Hamburg
  • Karola Margraf, Mayor of Nikolausberg
  • Falco Mohrs, Minister for Science and Culture of Lower Saxony
  • Prof. Hans Georg Näder, Executive Partner of Ottobock
  • Prof. Dr. Reinhard Pöllath, Chairman of the Board of Trustees of Max-Planck-Förderstiftung
  • Frerk Schenker, Editor in Chief, Göttinger Tageblatt
  • Prof. Dr. Metin Tolan, President of the University of Göttingen
Go to Editor View